“Just Do It”

Published on: Author: bette 4 Comments

It occurs to me this morning that the reason I have so much trouble moving forward is that I’m a perfectionist.  I even hesitate to write that word for fear that someone will think that means I think some of what I put out there is “perfect.”  Absolutely not true.

In our writing group on Thursday someone read this sentence:  “A painting is never finished.  It simply stops in interesting places.”

I love that.  It means that I can just dive into this project whenever I want – and stop when I’m done.  Maybe it will be in an interesting place, or maybe not. So now I’m going to remember the NIKE poster says I’m going to “JUST DO IT” without giving too much thought about what “IT” might turn out to look like in the end.

I’ve worked with the titles of the six sessions of this workshop for over a decade now – and they seem to have stabilized in the last couple of years.   They may change again at some point, but I feel comfortable enough with them now that I can start organizing some of the handouts I use.  Perhaps once I begin doing that it will be easier to write about each one and move forward.

4 Responses to “Just Do It” Comments (RSS) Comments (RSS)

  1. …. and now it’s been almost 3 more years and I’m done. I just wrote a post called “The End” but will just save it as a draft right now. I only have 4 subscribers, Linda, Dianah, Nancy, and Marle, so I would feel safe actually posting it …. but for now I’ll just keep it to myself.

    I just read the poem “She Let Go” again – and that’s how I want to do this …. “Like a leaf falling from a tree – She let go” ….

  2. I just read this again – almost two years later – and I really feel fine about it. It’s what I want to say in Session #4 – “Moving Forward in ‘Real’ Time.” I’m finding that when I slow down, stay in the moment, and focus on the big picture … things happen very fast.

    • Make that 6 years ago!! Now that I know that I’m writing “It’s About Time” for myself – I love it that I can look back 6 years and realize that I’m moving in the same direction! I love Andy’s line “The mind that brought me this far is moving on a one-way track.” :-)!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *